9 Weeks To Raceday

What a week!  I’m nine weeks to race day and 20% to my fund raising goal to get me to my mission trip in the Dominican.  I’ll post the link again for anyone who wants to push me closer to 100%.

This week has been a little crazy at our house.  The few inches of snow that were being threatened last weekend ended up turning into nearly a foot in our neighborhood.  A few days later, these southern folks had their new england radiator style heat go out.  Twice.  To say we felt like we did not have it under control all week would be an understatement.  (For those who don’t know, southerners have no real need for radiators.  Nearly all of our heat comes from forced air electrical HVAC systems….talk about an new experience for these new Connecticut residents!).

Blizzards and waiting for repairmen and the gas company not only altered my training schedule, but put me in a funk.  I’m a pretty very type-A personality, so when things feel out of my control, I try to find even more things to get done so that I can check them off the list and feel like I’ve taken matters into my own hands.  “No situation will best me.”

I was taken a little bit this week with a post from a fellow mission trip-goer.  She has been before and she talked about how much we don’t have to rely on God in America.  We’re fortunate, I suppose, in the fact that we have everything at our fingertips.  Yet, because of this very availability, we somehow feel like we can control our surroundings and dictate life.  Yep, that’s me to the letter.  She went on to talk about how the people of the Dominican don’t really have that problem.  They have to rely so closely on God that they don’t delude themselves into this “strive more, control more” lifestyle.  I’m sure their lives are so physically exhausting, but can we all agree that the way we go about is equally fatiguing?  Aren’t we as Americans yearning for something?  Social media pops up every day with some article about decompressing with “Mindfulness” and “10 Ways to a Happier Year” or “5 Small Changes to Be Your Best You.”  Someone is reading this.  Someone is eating it up by the spoonful or the articles wouldn’t keep being written. I don’t think it’s the people of the Dominican.  Have you seen happier smiles?

Can we all agree that we can teach the people of the Dominican things like sustainable gardening and irrigation or how to create footings for a building… but they can teach me (us) something, too?

I’ve been hearing “Good Good Father” by Chris Tomlin every time I turn on the radio this week.  I think it’s a gentle reminder in my bad mood from an out of control week of something the folks in these pictures already know.

But I know we’re all searching
For answers only you provide
Cause you know just what we need
Before we say a word

Might we all remember that He is a good, good father.

If you’d like to help me reach my goal as I run 13.1 to raise $1310 for my mission trip to the Dominican, check out the link here: https://www.youcaring.com/meredith-ng-444115

Only 9 weeks left!

 

Leave a Reply

