On resolutions

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas and got to see family and friends near and far!  I don’t know about anyone else, but it seems like Christmas came and went so quickly and the the new year is approaching fast and furious.

Do any of you make resolutions for the new year? We do in the runningonamission house. We have rules to our resolutions as well. They have to be specific and they have to be achievable…and more importantly they have to be things we can carry through life and build on. (I know, I know… could I sounds more type A?)

As an example, resolutions in years past have been to drink 64 ounces of fluids every day and eating 7 to 9 servings of fruits and vegetables daily. This year, we are tossing around the idea of limiting meals purchased outside the house to two per week.

But let me tell you a personal one that has hit me after starting this blog and receiving a gift at Christmas.  I got the devotional to One Thousand Gifts by Anne Voskamp.  In the book, she suggests setting a goal to live in Thanksgiving and see every gift big and small in the world around us.

image

image

So my goal, friends, is to do just that. I think running is the perfect medium.  How many times have I been running and thought about how God the sun felt on my face or how perfectly the birds were chirping in the morning?  Just like Anne, my starting goal will be one thousand gifts.

As I start a new, more intense training plan in the coming weeks, would you all join me by finding one beautiful gift to thank God for in the midst of both hard and easy days?

Here’s to resolutions: to sticking to them, to making them attainable, and to living in Thanksgiving.

As always, if you would to check out more about why I’m running or donate, check out my about me or donate pages.

Leave a Reply

