Week 8: Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is here!

On the eve of Thanksgiving, I could bore you all with details of my training plan, but I won’t.

I’d rather talk about how Thanksgiving is probably my favorite holiday.  It’s a family day to reflect on a year of blessings in our lives.  It also ushers in Advent and it’s a magical lead up to Christmas.  I think we can all be thankful for the wonder of Christmas…Christ born to earth for us.

It’s a time to slow down, to breath in family and friends.  It’s a time to be silly and enjoy our successes and our failures.  Ask me about the time I used 4 sticks of butter on a turkey…I dare you.  Or how terrible the sweet potatoes were that year.  I’m blessed with a husband who can still laugh with me for those dishes.

I could also tell you stories of board games with family, or the year we invited our neighbors over and all dressed in discount disney costumes for fun.  I could talk about how thankful I was for my first married Thanksgiving, or how happy it made me the first time I got hubby out to chop down a real tree.  (A lumberjack, he is not…but I’m thankful for him anyway)

I’m thankful for many things.  Most are not material (although the recipe card we retain for a traditional southern Chocolate Chess Pie is one of my prized possessions this time of year).  I’m thankful for a mother who didn’t have to be. I’m thankful for a dad who taught me what family really means. I’m thankful for a roof over my head and a husband who gladly works long hours to help me put it there monthly.  I’m grateful for the redeeming love of Christ and that he sees fit to watch over me daily.

And guys, I’m thankful that I can freely post to the internet in an effort to get me to the Dominican Republic.  There are folks in other countries who cannot profess the desire to take a mission trip or freely speak what they want.

For Thanksgiving, I don’t want to dwell on how you can donate to my trip expenses.  I’d simply like to share with you what two cool kids who went on the trip last year are asking you to do.  And then I’d like to share other ways you can give gifts that count so everyone has a reason to be thankful.

As we roll into Christmas, I’d invite you #skip1thing.  You can check out the video behind this movement here:

And, instead of black friday shopping, consider spending time with your families.  You will have plenty of time to cruise gifts online like the ones below that give back:

http://www.vibellajewelry.com    Jewelry and ornaments providing work to support families in Haiti.

http://www.no41.org   Sewn products giving girls coming from orphanages in Rwanda a skill.

http://www.therefugeeproject.net  Hand crafted items that allow women relocated for religious and ethnic persecution to provide for themselves.

http://www.aban.org  recycled, hand crafted items that support young mothers in Ghana by giving them a skill and their children a path to education.

http://donate.worldvision.org/ways-to-give/gift-catalog   Want to simply make a donation on someone’s behalf (like chickens to a family or childhood vaccines)?  Do it here.

I hope you’ll join me and two young boys far more bold and brave than I was at their age in the decision to #skip1thing.

Until next time,

Meredith

“Count your blessings, name them one by one.  Count your many blessings, see what God has done.”

 

Leave a Reply

