Week 6 update and 1 Corinthians 13:3

Tonight, I’m thankful for people who are coming alongside me in this journey.

Let me tell you, a week and half ago, my dad showed up to help with a bathroom renovation and with a birthday gift from my mom and he.  They picked out a Nike Hyperwarm shirt in hi-lighter yellow (so I would be seen by cars).  Guys, there is not a more mom-ish gift than a shirt that will keep you warm and keep you from getting hit by cars.  I laugh, but this was the best possible shirt for my 4 pm five miler in 48 degrees and damp, windy conditions.  Thanks mom (and dad).  I was neither cold, nor hit by a car.  The bigger gift, though, was the gift of support and coming alongside me to give me something that showed love.  Something I had been living without just fine…but that once I had it, I felt cared for. running1

Another great guy today was my husband.  He does not run five miles.  Nevertheless, he knew that it was overcast and our already early dark skies would close in even more quickly today.  When I told him my route before I left the house, he kindly told me that he’d run to meet me at my last mile, and then run my last mile with me.  He came alongside me and showed me care as well.  Once again, it was something I was just fine doing without…but once he saw me at the corner of Center and Main, it felt really good.

I’ll tell you another story.  This one is from the Dominican Republic.  There were a man and a woman who had been living in unity as a married couple for many years but never had the opportunity to share in a public marriage ceremony in their bateye.  In 2015, the team I want to travel with next year met this couple.  Friends, my pastor married them, publicly, with a crowd to see.  They could have been given all the food and medical care in the world, but it wouldn’t have been the same without someone coming alongside them and telling them they care.  bateye wedding2 bateye wedding1

1 Corinthians 13:3 says “If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it; but if I didn’t love others, I would have gained nothing.”  My goal is to get to the Dominican in 2016.  Not to show that I can pass out groceries, burp babies at medical center, or swing a big hammer (although I may do those things while there).  My goal is to show love.  Maybe that’s by being present at a wedding that a couple has longed for.  Maybe that’s by playing baseball with children.   I don’t really know.  My husband didn’t know how much it would mean to me that he ran the last mile with me.  My  mom and dad didn’t know that I would feel loved for at least the first two miles before I started wondering what the weird feeling was in my big toe or if I passed my turn. They were just present in my life, waiting to show that they cared.  That’s what I’d like to be in the D.R.

If you would like to show love, you can visit the donate link to my you caring account.  You can visit http://www.drmissionteam.org and sponsor a school aged child.   You can visit the FulFILLing Smiles Facebook page and order a christmas ornament (with proceeds going to delivering food to the families in La Romana, Dominican Republic).

And be sure to be open to those around you who need to know you care this week.

Good Night,

Meredith

Leave a Reply

