I’m committing

It’s taken me several weeks to work up the nerve for this. Putting this out to my social media networks and saying out loud means that I have to do it. I have to make it happen. That’s scary, but here it goes:

I’m committing to running 13.1 miles this spring to raise the money for my mission trip to the Dominican Republic in July 2016. I haven’t selected the half marathon yet, but I’ll be posting about it here. Soon, I’ll be creating a YouCaring page to accept donations and pledges to my trip. But first, I’m creating this page. To keep me honest. To keep me on track. To hopefully receive some encouragement on the inevitable bad days somewhere in the middle of winter when the wind chill leaves me wanting to stay home in my robe and fuzzy slippers.

But…who am I to complain about running 13 miles with my comfortable and new running shoes when kids in the Dominican have no shoes? Who am I to fuss over whether or not I can run 13.1 miles in an organized recreational race with water tables and medical staff when the families in the remote barrios must walk further for basic medical care? How can I complain about running in the elements or on a treadmill when some of these families are living in lean-to structures year round?

So, I’m putting it on paper, on my social networks, on my heart. I have to do this. If I don’t raise a cent for my trip, I can at least say I spent the time running and training in reflection on my blessings here in the U.S. I’m asking all of you; will you donate? Will you sponsor a child at drmissionteam.org? Will you pray for me? Will you cheer me on when I’m having a bad day? Will you cheer me on when I’ve had a great day?

Thank you and Blessings, Meredith

Leave a Reply

